Animal Totem/Spirit Animal exercises

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
11 years 8 months ago #70310 by
Back in April I started studying the Asatru ways but so far have been unable to find a decent exercise on the discovery of my animal totem.

I performed one I found on a random, poorly-HTML'd webpage and came up with two animals. Sometimes separate, sometimes together. What exercises could the Order recommend?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

• Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
11 years 8 months ago #70312 by
Are you trying to find a totem animal or a spirit animal? A totem animal can be any animal you feel a strong affinity for. Your spirit animal may take time to find, you have to be patient. I would recommend thinking about meeting it every night before you go to bed. It may come to you in your dreams or you may find a certain animal appearing often throughout your days. Remember, it could be anything so don't rule anything out, but seeing as you have two then maybe they both are. You can have more than one spirit guide. :)

Another thing you could try is to take ten minutes - a half hour or more to meditate or journey. You could have some luck with that.

(Also, these are just my opinions and may or may not be correct for you.)

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
11 years 8 months ago #70313 by
Thank you Wendaline. I'll reflect on these and see where they take me.

The exercise I did went thus;

"Take your mind to nature, an environment of your own. Once at peace there, ask for help and your animal spirit will appear."

More
11 years 8 months ago #70315 by Wescli Wardest
My "animal Totem" was given me by a Sioux Chieftain once I passed the gauntlet. And this knowledge was afforded him by the tribal Shaman or medicine-man. It is a long story... but I have carried this with me for over twenty years and it has served me well.