Honoring a Prophet

More
4 years 2 months ago #348754 by Alethea Thompson
Cards Drawn: Break Attachments, Honor Your Apprentice and Honor Your Master

(^ The cards above are drawn from a meditation deck called "The Jedi Sextant", a project I've been working on since 2012, there is also a reference to the Jedi Compass below [Duty to All] :) )

Most Christians I encounter want to ignore the God spoken of in the Old Testament, and only look at the God that Jesus tells us about. But Jesus didn’t reject the God of the OT, he embraced Him and tried to get the people to better understand that God. One of the attributes we continually ignore about God, is His nature towards destruction of that which He hates. His attachment is to His hatred for that which He deems wickedness and unthankfulness. But in one story, we see a Prophet encourage him to break with this attachment at least once.

Numbers 14:10-12
But all the congregation bade stone them with stones. And the glory of the Lord appeared in the tabernacle of the congregation before all the children of Israel.

And the Lord said unto Moses, How long will this people provoke me? and how long will it be ere they believe me, for all the signs which I have shewed among them? I will smite them with the pestilence, and disinherit them, and will make of thee a greater nation and mightier than they.

In the beginning of this chapter, the Children of Israel are crying and asking why God would put them in such a horrible situation as to be enduring hardship. They start to talk about going back to Egypt and submitting themselves into slavery. They can’t appreciate the freedom that God has given them. It is here that God’s jealousy (Exodus 20:5) surfaces once more. It’s in this moment that Moses has an opportunity to change positions from the Apprentice to the Master, manifesting a perfect image of our own Jedi Ethic “Duty to All”-

Numbers 14:13-19