Hi

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
12 years 9 months ago #40985 by
Hi was created by
Hello,

My name is Pelar, and can usually find me active on the FA.
I'm a student of Anthropology, Sociology and environmental studies - approaching a BA.

I'm conducting research in anthropology of identities, and the subject of my study is Jedi identities online and offline. As a member of the general SW community I assure you I'm not trying to be judgmental of any of the different types of Jedi/ism out there, but rather I believe the fascinating Jedi phenomenon has much to contribute to the scholarly understanding of human identities.

I'm in a pretty progressive phase of the study, and I'm looking for some last-minute input. I'd be grateful to anyone who agrees to answer some (or all) of the following questions:
  • How do you define Jedi? How do you explain Jedi to others?
  • What brought you to the Jedi idea and to the Jedi community online?
  • How do you relate to the SW fiction and the Jedi depicted there? Is there a difference between fictional Jedi and real life Jedi? Can you give an example of how the fiction affected your real life?
  • How important is your Jedi identity in your daily living?
  • Do others know you're Jedi? Do you express it openly? If not - why? Are there other parts of your identity that are similar in the sense that you prefer to keep them private (and are willing to share here)?
  • What is the significance of the online website and forum?
  • Is there a difference between an online environment and an offline one?
  • What does being a Jedi constitute online? What does it mean to be a Jedi offline? Is one easier than the other?

Feel free to also elaborate, use examples and insert general unrelated comments ;)

Thank you all so much, and if there's an interest then I promise to let you know how it went... (and maybe post the finished work here too)
Pelar

Please Log in to join the conversation.

• RyuJin
  • Master
  • Master