No need for a physical temple

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
9 years 3 months ago #177044 by
Hello! My name is Jeremiah and I'm new to Jediism and to this community. I have gone through the forums in an effort to get to know the community better and have found that I have a few questions I need answered.
One thing I have seen over and over again in the forums is this obsession with building an actual physical temple somewhere and using it as a place to meet, meditate, and train. Why is this something that is needed or wanted? Don't the 16 Teachings tell us to be wary of physical or material attachments? Wouldn't this temple become something of that kind?
Some people have said that a temple isn't necessary to be a Jedi. I agree with this. Some systems of belief assert that a gathering of 2 or more people in discussion of their faith can be considered "at church" or "at worship". Could it also be said that whenever 2 or more Jedi are discussing Jediism via a forum, email, texts, or online chat, that they are "at temple"?
I'm not going to pretend to know a whole lot about Jediism, being that I am so new. But what I have learned seems to contradict the desire to build a physical building, as though it enhances the experience in some way. I'm just wondering what some of the more senior members of the Order think about this subject.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
9 years 3 months ago #177065 by Edan
Replied by Edan on topic No need for a physical temple
I'm not a senior member... but I've said in another post that anywhere Jedi gather is a Temple in my eyes.
A real meeting place would be nice, but not necessary.

It won't let me have a blank signature ...
The following user(s) said Thank You: steamboat28, Jestor, Tarran, Hitira38

• Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
9 years 3 months ago - 9 years 3 months ago #177067 by
Replied by on topic Re:No need for a physical temple