If you were going to teach meditation to beginners . . . ?

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
6 years 7 months ago #294770 by
I've volunteered to teach an intro to meditation course for my local community ed program this fall. Four one-hour sessions in October.

I have a rough outline of what I wish to cover, but I'm interested in hearing input from you as well. I know I'm going to start with simple focusing on breath, because I really believe that is the easiest "technique" for an absolute beginner to get. I think it would be powerful to end the course with loving-kindness metta meditation too, but I'm not wedded to that idea.

What do you think, my expert sistren and brethren? Anything else you think would be essential to cover, but not too advanced for complete novices?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

• Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
6 years 7 months ago #294774 by
Many beginners have difficulty understanding how to deal with their thoughts whilst meditating. There is a common perception that meditation involves eliminating all thoughts, though that is not necessarily the purpose.

Headspace have a 'mindfulness' app which during its beginners program shows an animation to illustrate an analogy: when you are meditating, picture your thoughts to be traffic passing in all directions at a busy intersection. Often we get so involved trying to follow each car that we try to run in all directions to keep up and get nowhere. When you meditate, instead try to focus on simply watching the traffic without chasing it - that is, be aware of your thoughts, but practise not being swept away with them.

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
6 years 7 months ago #294777 by
I love that analogy and am totally swiping it for my first session. :) Thank you, Dano.

• Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
6 years 7 months ago #294781 by