Appropriation and How to Avoid it

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
3 years 5 months ago #355610 by
This might seem like a silly question, but I'm still a little new to dealing with the topic.

How is the best way to research which things are appropriation?

Currently, I'm trying to train myself to remember to look into things that are new to me and find their origins. Then I try to google that culture and their thoughts on the topic. It's not a very expedient method, and sometimes I fail to find anything. In those moments, I'm left to wonder if my search was poorly worded or if there really is no problem. So in the interest of working smarter, not harder: What methods do you use?

I am not interested in answers from those who do not actively attempt to go out of their way to avoid it.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
6 months 3 weeks ago #374271 by Kwitshadie
My Girlfriend is Hindu and I was raised in a Catholic/Chinook Animist household. I’ve just been playing it by ear and asking questions. Her mom just ordered Indian Pajamas for me just recently to go to the events.
Don’t be afraid to participate in the culture, just don’t poke fun at the traditions.
Stop, looking and listening is key.

Fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate, hate leads to suffering ~ Yoda

More
5 months 3 weeks ago #374558 by ZealotX
Appropriation isn't about doing or experiencing. Cultures are meant to be experienced and shared. I don't know of any culture on the planet where the people would be upset by your interest.

But I appreciate your desire not to appropriate. It's obviously coming from a good place.