Response to Ignorance in Others

More
8 years 6 days ago - 8 years 6 days ago #240759 by Leah Starspectre
(Sorry if this belongs on the Jediism forum, but I don't have access to it yet - but I consider this a well-being topic)

So here's a bit of backstory first. I've only been around here for a couple of days, but I've been trying to live Jedi values ever since I read "The Jedi Path" about 6 months ago. Also I've been living Jedi-like values since I studied at a Buddhist temple about 7 years ago. I try to be temperate when faced with passion and emotion, and to feel compassion for everyone (even if they've wronged me) - and I've mostly succeeded.

I've been praised for my ability to maintain composure when under fire, BUT being temperate and reasonable in the face of raging emotion seems to induce further rage.

I'm having a hard time reconciling my desire to actively do right (usually this happens when I see/hear racism, sexism, homophobia, or other harmful social behaviour) with the Buddhist teaching of dispelling ignorance passively by being an example to others.

It seems to me that a Jedi should combat injustice (but not look for a fight), but when it's the same people around you who remain ignorant, you just seem like an unfeeling provocateur jerk for trying to offer alternatives to ignorance. In that case, should one remove oneself from around ignorant people, or continue to strive to shine a light into their minds?

Where should an aspiring Jedi draw the line when choosing their battles and dealing with conflict?
Last edit: 8 years 6 days ago by Leah Starspectre.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

• Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
8 years 6 days ago - 8 years 6 days ago #240765 by
Replied by on topic Response to Ignorance in Others