derailed threat

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
14 years 4 months ago #27775 by
derailed threat was created by
i admit, i am new to blogging and threads. i want to be a member of this community. since this is a virtual community created by threads and blogs, i am learning how to part take in them.

the question i have is, what happens when a thread gets taken over or derailed? how does one get it back on track or does a person simply start a new one?

is there a way to delete threads that have gotten way off track?

what is the etiquette about commenting on \"derailing\" content?

i want to participate in an appropriate way, so let me know if there is a system or custom for this keeping a thread on track.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

• Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
14 years 4 months ago #27783 by
Replied by on topic Re:derailed threat
I may not give you the best answer, but I do have some advice you may find helpful.

If a topic gets derailed.( I.E. too man tangents) You could ask politely just like you would a conversation in real life to get back on track. You may have to re-state a question, but it may help to find the answer you seek.

As for editing and managing topics such as moving or locking ect. Leave that to the admins and moderators. That is part of their job, though I hate to point at said persons and be like. ( We need a clean up on aisle 3 or this topic is no longer relavent to the purpose that it was intended so you clean it up)

I would say dont' worry too much. There are many people on here that can help.

And it's alot like real life. Keep things humane, clean, and handle issues with others in a responsible manner.

NOTE: I don't know this sites rules or views on Necroposting( i.e. replying to a topic that is more than a few weeks old and is on the verge of dying or drifting out of site, therefore bringing it to the forefront of topic list)

I hope this helps.

• Jon
  • User
  • User
    Inactive