The sound of some local planets.

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
9 years 10 months ago #146913 by
I will preface this interesting video with an explanation. Every star and planet in the universe has a radio wave signature. It's own unique "sound". These examples are taken using powerful radio telescopes, which convert the radio waves into data. The data has been further converted into the audible spectrum. These sounds are unique, and as you can hear, every planet has it's own unique "voice". The voice of Saturn is particularly interesting, and honestly a little unsettling to listen to. Actually made the hair on the back of my neck stand up. Headphones are best, but speakers work fine. Enjoy.

http://youtu.be/ToXaNUjNfS4

BTW. If you can't tell by now, I LOVE SCIENCE. An engineer by trade, and scientist by heart.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

• Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
9 years 10 months ago - 9 years 10 months ago #146915 by
Replied by on topic The sound of some local planets.
Thanks, EEJim! I love this stuff as well. :) I often listen to the NASA Voyager Recordings (Symphonies of the Planets) CDs. They were originally released in the early 1990s and contain music created through the conversion of electromagnetic vibrations recorded on the Voyager during missions. I'll paste more info below in case you're interested.

Description from last.fm :

"Although sound does not propagate through interplanetary space in the same way that it carries in Earth’s atmosphere, outer space being virtually devoid of atmosphere, there exist similar phenomena - such as electromagnetic vibration in plasma ejected by the Sun. The Voyager space probes launched by NASA gathered field recordings of the interaction between the solar wind and the magnetosphere of various planets and moons in the Solar System.