Nutrition and Sleep

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
6 years 9 months ago #288419 by
Nutrition and Sleep was created by
Hello!

I just thought I would share my life experience in the areas of health and wellbeing that I think any Jedi might benefit from, and should align with all of the Jedi principles.

I am a former professional athlete and nutritionist, and was lucky enough to be raised in a very idyllic north-american-bhuddist home.

I will try to put these couple life lessons I have learned in point-form (without too much explanation) and I will answer any questions that anyone might have.

1. Proper sleep is THE most important thing to live a healthy life. Tibetan-Bhuddist Meditation is the best way to work on improving your sleep that I have encountered. Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ULe0Lr_cwH4

2. Diet is more important than exercise for general health. Having been a HUGE meat-eater and then switching to a smart Vegan/Vegetarian diet (lots of protein from Beans/Chick-peas/lentils etc. and also supplementing Vitamin D and B12), without being too crazy about it and having the occasional fish and/or other meats approximately once per month. I have noticed a HUGE difference in my cardiovascular health and even after retiring from sports and being basically sedentary for years, I can go out and do strenuous physical activity and feel less "out of breath" than I did when I was training full-time!
The 'Forks Over Knives' documentary is what originally got me to make this change, and I couldn't find the whole documentary for free on YouTube but this is close: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g-BE9MKYdwo

3. Exercise is still important and very good, but should be secondary in importance to both proper sleep and/or eating healthy. I am still planning on getting a Standing-Desk to improve this aspect of my post-athletic life.

May the Force be with You.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

• Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public