Being Paid to Volunteer, Is it Legit or Not?

More
8 years 9 months ago #196712 by Tellahane
So I had a recent debate about this and it stalemated, so I wanted to see what everyone elses feedback is on this. Obviously there are different levels of volunteering, and different ways, you can volunteer time, money, effort, donations of food/money/clothing etc.

So the particular scenario is one of my part time jobs. I work as an EMT for the local ambulance service, anyone in healthcare will recognize I'm a PRN employee or an as-needed/volunteer kind of slot. I volunteer time outside my normal 40hrs to work on the ambulance service (mostly night shifts lately) responding as the 2nd out rig. There is no way to volunteer for this position its a paid position no matter what, so yes I get paid for it(which helps pay some of the bills off faster atm). But I would easily do it without pay any day of the week(I do it for my 2nd emt job on the weekends that is purely volunteer no pay).

So the debate is, even if your volunteering time, and still getting paid, is it truly volunteer or not? What if you were only getting compensation pay for gas? What's everyone's thoughts? One argument is your volunteering time end of story, the other is, your getting paid for your time its not truly volunteering?

Let's be honest about one other thing, people who work mcdonalds make more then what I make as an emt-i, my 40hs a week job pays twice as much per hour then what I make as an emt, so its not like I'm doing it to live off of.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

• Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
8 years 9 months ago #196718 by
Not going to lie, when I saw the thread title I thought it might be about somehow being paid to just go around to different places that take volunteers and volunteering. Like you might work for a non-profit that pays people to just volunteer all the time. (Great idea alert! :woohoo: New calling has been found. Thank you.)