Offline, Online... and between it all? Balance.

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
6 years 3 weeks ago #317664 by
Some points were brought up in another thread about balancing being Jedi online and offline. Some people (including myself) believe that some should spend more time online, becoming a presence here. Other people (also including myself) think some people need to know how to log out and be Jedi offline.

So how do we reconcile the two, a question posed in the other thread?

I am by no means an expert, and am making an active effort at being here often, but knowing when to go offline for a bit. How do I balance it?

Simply put, if you have nothing to say, if you're posting for the sake of it, to make your voice heard, to be passive aggressive, or really aren't furthering a conversation... why post? I read everything posted, takes me maybe a half hour in the morning. I may respond. I greet people, I answer some basic questions if not already responded to, and I may make my opinion known in other threads. But then, when I'm done, I log out. I go train offline.

Pretty much use what I'd consider the "Cat Nap" method. Any time a cat may stop for a nap (I have one at home to keep count for me ;P), I log on, check around, and log off. Again, I'm not perfect in this manner, and do still find myself chewing over nothing, posting for no reason. But I know I'm getting better. Quality over quantity in this matter, as well as others.

I hope this helps others understand what I mean when I am at both times saying we need more online activity as well as offline activity. I hope others learn from this, and perhaps we become a better community for it.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
6 years 3 weeks ago #317665 by rugadd
Could it be said you would like to see quality of quantity?

rugadd

More
6 years 3 weeks ago #317666 by rugadd
*Quality over quantity

rugadd

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
6 years 3 weeks ago #317667 by