How do you Train?

More
7 years 7 months ago #254177 by JamesSand
How do you Train? was created by JamesSand
Hallo folks.

I apologise if this is a subject that has been discussed extensively already. I had a crack at using the search function but couldn't quite get the hang of it.

So, my question is - How do you train?

Not yourself, how do you train others?

I am an instructor, however what I teach is somewhat "practical" and in some cases, bound by strict processes or laws, so my method is

"This is how you do it" *show how to do it* - "Now you tell me and show me how do it" *student mimics* - "Well done"

training something spiritual and helping someone become "better" (whilst part of my role as an adult, generally, when working with younger people when they have issues people have, or wrangling stroppy nephews) is not part of my profession so I don't have a "method" as such for that sort of training.

The general terms we bandy about are "sage on the stage" and "guide on the side" - despite the connotations, what I teach requires a Sage on the Stage style for a lot of the time - once the foundations are in, there is some room for "guide on the side" work, but it's just to confirm the students have grasped the concepts and can use them in various situations.

So, to circle back, and this is not just directed at the Masters here - what are your methods, systems, or inspirations for providing functional, effective and meaningful training to your students, on any subject- whether it be technical skills, physical training, the Jedi path, or anything else you might be in the business of passing on (or receiving, if you're a student of any field)

B)

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
7 years 7 months ago - 7 years 7 months ago #254179 by Adder
Replied by Adder on topic How do you Train?