Is all altruism selfish?

More
8 years 9 months ago - 8 years 9 months ago #196220 by Edan
I'm studying this in my degree right now, but I'm interested to hear what everyone else thinks.

Do you think that any act of helping another can ever be truly selfless?

It won't let me have a blank signature ...
Last edit: 8 years 9 months ago by Edan.
The following user(s) said Thank You: steamboat28

Please Log in to join the conversation.

• Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
8 years 9 months ago #196224 by
Replied by on topic Is all altruism selfish?
In short, no.

We are all one. To give to another is to give to oneself. It is unavoidable :)

More
8 years 9 months ago #196228 by OB1Shinobi
Replied by OB1Shinobi on topic Is all altruism selfish?
i like Streens answer and i agree with it - we are all connected

and we cannot remove our self from our self, therefore we cannot act on behalf of anyone other than our self

but - this does not mean that we cannot also act with sincere intent and desire for the well being or betterment of others, or simply of something other than ourselves

the idea of selflessness is valid

it is about acknowledging the world around us and the other people in it as being equal to and independent from us and being equally valuable in their own right

how selfish is it for a soldier to smother a grenade with his body, or for a parent to spend 20 yrs at the factory so their kid can go to the prom and study medicine?

only the individual can determine if their own "altruism" is selfish or not

People are complicated.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Edan

More
8 years 9 months ago #196229 by Breeze el Tierno
It is a question in moral absolutes. It's not something that one encounters out in the wild.

I agree with the last two. And if I did good for you that actually harmed me, who knows if that is good for you in the long term? Consequences are hard to know.