Where does our talents come from?

• Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
8 years 11 months ago - 8 years 11 months ago #189846 by
Replied by on topic Where does our talents come from?
'

Xhaiden wrote: I respectfully disagree there is no such thing as natural talent. I am a musician and teach students in grades 5-12 in instrumental music and have been doing so for the past 12 years or so. You can find them all over Youtube but there are plenty of videos within the music world where a child with no training or no training beyond the basics starts playing compositions way above their knowledge or ability level. I have met a few kids, some are autistic and others are not and they have had very little background and have not put in much time at all and can just do it. It is quite amazing to see in person. In regards to my own playing, I am a trumpet player mainly, I have had to work my tail off to get to the level I am at and I have to keep at it or else I take quite a few steps backwards.

How do I explain some of these more natural abilities, I believe when someone passes on back into the Force their energy obviously goes with it. When a new life is created some of that energy becomes part of the new life. If someone was a amazing pianist and passes on and part of that energy goes into a new life then those abilities to a certain extent go with it. Again, this is a very straight forward explanation and pretty simplistic on many levels and also just my own beliefs about how some pieces of the Force works. B)

I wouldn't count a mental condition as "natural talent". In the autistic and savants there's a clear cause. Yes, everyone's brain works differently, even the sexes lean towards being good at one thing or the other. It's just that you do have to nurture this talent for there to be a true understanding of a skill. It takes time.

There are also limited fields where prodigies exist. Music, chess, a few others.