Pop killed the Rock star

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
9 years 8 months ago #153800 by
Pop killed the Rock star was created by
Last year I saw a documentary about the band Foo Fighters. Dave Grohl, the lead singer, talked about the last MTV music awards they were invited to play at, saying that they were the only rock band there. That was several years ago, I believe. Now? Where are the rock bands?

Every morning I watch music videos on various channels. I can't remember the last time I heard a song on VH1, MTV, Paladia, etc., that was remotely real. I'll explain what I mean.

I started playing guitar in my mid teens, and my mentors were the Beatles, Jimi Hendrix, various blues guitar players, etc. Point being, they were talented. So what happened to all the rock bands with skill? Is Rock 'n' Roll destined to die like disco? Pop has completely drowned out everything else. Bands don't even play real instruments anymore. Everything is digital. Not to sound like an old koot, it's just that skill seems to becoming irrelevant. You just have to push some buttons and you have a song. Where's the soul? Where's the spirit of radio (as Geddy Lee of Rush would say)?

Please tell me someone else has noticed this. :sick:

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
9 years 8 months ago #153802 by Edan
Replied by Edan on topic Pop killed the Rock star

Streen wrote: Bands don't even play real instruments anymore.:

I'm not sure that's entirely true... I listen to metal and there are always new bands coming up (playing instruments), but you'll rarely see them on the TV. Music on tv channels has never really been a fair representation of what's out there anyway. I'm pretty sure Kerrang is playing the same music that I was listening to as a teenager.

I think what the channels class as 'rock' has changed perhaps, and has a bit of a different sound, but perhaps you might find more of what you're looking for on other music services.