Listening to our bodies

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
8 years 10 months ago #192608 by
Listening to our bodies was created by
I was thinking today about our eating choices and listening to what our body is telling us we need. Mostly I was thinking of this today because I am ill and crave Mt. Dew and Pizza. I had both and feel much better. Proper medication also helped. :laugh:

I was then reminded of a friend who has a diet that is super high in sodium and fatty foods. Watching him eat I can feel my own blood pressure go up and my artieries clog. Somehow, though, he always tests at a perfectly normal blood pressure leading us to believe that he may very well have naturally low blood pressure and his constant craving for salty, fatty foods is his body's way of trying to correct the problem.

I'm not a doctor or a dietician but does that seem feasible? If we really were to listen to our bodies do they tell us what we really need? Could they also lie to us? Finally, how do we tell what our body is telling us we need from what our mind is telling us we want?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

• Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
8 years 10 months ago #192647 by
Replied by on topic Listening to our bodies
Too many variables left out here.

Of course you felt better after having pizza, you received a dopamine rush when you ate and drank the food.

Getting what you want does that.

Also, is it your body, or your mind telling you what you want in this instance?

You "feel" better, but that didnt mean you gave your body what it needed.

People who smoke say a cigarette after a meal makes it so much better, but no one is under the impression that cigarettes are good for you, in fact, they say everything to the contrary on the box.

There is a lot going on in the chemical cocktail that is the body.

You ate what you craved, and got a dopamine release. Now you understand what its like for an addict when he scores his fix.