Vegetarianism

• Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
8 years 10 months ago #192201 by
Replied by on topic Vegetarianism
I'm not a vegetarian myself but have friends that made the shift and the one "mistake" they all made was keep thinking the same way about meals. In the sense that something needed to substitute for meat. Their thought pattern remained "meat-centric". My advice would be to start by looking at cultures that has a rich vegetarian culture already rather than starting from scratch. India is a good place to start. Their cuisine is already packed with flavour and there are an insane plethora of dishes for all tastes to choose from.
That'll lead the way for more creative ways of cooking veggies.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

• Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
8 years 10 months ago #192212 by
I have a degree in Human Physiology. The most difficult nutrient to get for a vegetarian is vitamin B12. You body can store about a years worth of it ,so a lot of vegetarians quiet after a year as a b12 deficiency is quite noticeable. It makes you tired all the time.

Soy can be a problem as it contains fido estrogen. A lot of people don't know that and it's a really bad idea to give children soy.

When consulting food experts remember in the United States anyone can call themselves a Nutritionist ,but the title Dietitian is regulated ,so try to listen to a Dietitian over a Nutritionist.

Human Beings are naturally omnivore, breaking this requires special care and it's general a lot more difficult to stay healthy. There are some people who are going to argue that being a vegetarian is healther, it's not. It is the general consensus of the scientific community that it is not because it is very difficult to eat all the right foods to supplement the nutrients from eating meat. Sure it can be done and do what you want.

• Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
8 years 10 months ago #192220 by